To Cheese or Not To Cheese: Is Vegan Pizza Trending?

 

To cheese…
not to cheese….

 

 

OR

 

 

 

That is the question.

Cheeseless Pizza..What!!

Actually, it isn’t a given that a vegan “mock” cheese will be an  option on your pizza. Most of the time vegans have to be content with cheeseless pizza. It’s the safest, easiest route, with the least amount of hassle. No one wants to be the picky person at the pizza office lunch every Friday, but if you’re lactose-intolerant or vegan, you’ve got to say something so that you can eat, too.

Not that a yummy veggie-filled pizza with delicious sauce doesn’t taste amazing, but cheese just makes sense on a pizza. Luckily, some pizza restaurants and even small pizza delivery places (such as our humble establishment) now offer a vegan cheese alternative. Here at Pizzoli’s Organic Pizza we use Daiya brand vegan cheese.

If you’re wondering what that looks like, check out this review from veganbaking.net.

When I’m looking for vegan cheese I’m interested in authentic cheese flavor and a chewy, stringy consistency when melted. I’m not interested in flavors that are overly salty or increasingly bland. I’d prefer to shy away from consistencies that are cottage cheese or paste-like. Out of this bunch the Daiya Cheddar Style Shred and Mozzarella Style Shred came closest to reproducing the authentic cheese experience for me. It’s remarkably stringy, chewy and melted very similarly to dairy based cheese.

Specifically, the reviewer said of the Daiya Mozzarella Style Cheese Shred

This vegan cheese performed similarly to the Daiya Italian Style Shred (sic). I loved its melty chewiness and authentic cheezy (sic) flavor. It would do well in a Cesar Salad. It also melted at 350F…

But liked the Cheddar version even better, giving it the highest praise of all tested vegan cheeses:

The Daiya melted quicker and more consistently than all of the other vegan cheeses in the review, melting at 350F. Once melted, it was delightfully stringy and chewy. I knew I liked it when I wanted to keep eating it. It had a very authentic cheddar cheese flavor and texture.

 

 

Mmm…both look pretty melty. Hard to believe that there is no dairy – Daiya does not even use casein (a milk protein) in its ingredients, so it’s also okay for people with milk allergies as well as anyone lactose intolerant. Daiya products are gluten free, dairy free, and have no soy ingredients. They have gained quite a following in the U.S. in the last few years and can be found in select restaurants (only the best ones, of course).

Due to its texture when melted, it works great on vegan pizza!

We will add Daiya cheese to any pizza order upon request, for a small extra charge.

If you’re looking for healthy, organic pizzas, vegan pizzas, and gluten free pizzas, look no further than Pizzoli’s. We deliver to DC and the DC area.